Home » Member News, Pro Tips

Serving Out-Of-Order Rule Change effective 1/1/11

10 January 2011 No Comment

The USAR’s Board of Directors agreed that a doubles team should be allowed to have either partner serve first each time the team comes “in” to serve and that an “out’ should be assessed to the team if a partner who has lost the serve attempts to serve again during that inning. Here is the pertinent rule wording:

Rule 4.2 SERVE IN DOUBLES
(a) Order of Serve. At the beginning of each game, when the first server of the first team to serve is out, the team is out. After that, either partner can serve first each time the team steps in to serve. Both players on each team shall serve until there is a handout and a sideout — i.e. both players are out. The referee must make sure that neither partner serves again after that partner had previously lost a rally while serving.

Rule 4.4 OUT SERVE IN DOUBLES
(a) Out of Order Serve. If either partner serves again after that partner had previously lost a rally while serving, the penalty is an immediate out for that team.

The new rule changes will go in effect January 1, 2011.  Every player participating in a tournament should review the official Rules of Racquetball.

 

Leave your response!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.