Home » Headline, Photos, Results, Tournaments, Women

2010 Puget Sound Challenge

1 December 2010 No Comment

Kudos to Cheyenne & Will Hayes and there support team for a such a great event!

There were 177 participants that signed up to play in the WPRO tournament. Five from Canada, 2 from Mexico and the rest from the U.S. (with seven from Oregon and one from New York).

We had a big turnout for the Women’s Pro division with 12 from the WPRO and 4 of our own attempting to make it to the Finals. There were a couple of upsets that made the Women’s Pro division even more exciting, as #1 seed Rhonda Rajsich (Fountain Hills, AZ) lost to #5 Kerri Wachtel (Cincinnati, OH) in four games, with scores of -6, 8, 4 and 5. The other upset was #3 Cheryl Gudinas (Naperville, IL) losing to #4 Samantha Salas Solis (Monterrey, Mexico) in four games, with scores of 4, 6, -10 and 6.

The finals was just as exciting as #4 Samantha put a freeze on #5 Kerri in her hopes for 1st place, with scores of 13-11, 12-10, 8-11 and 11-7 to win the best of 5 series and to achieve her first championship, here in Olympia. It was a great performance by both ladies as they played to the capacity crowd.

Other winners in the Women’s Divisions: The Women’s Open division was won by #1 Keely Franks (Euless, TX) against #3 Susana Acosta (Chihuahua, MEX) winning 15-8 and 15-10. In the Women’s Elite/A division the winner was #2 Alyssa Boland (Seattle, WA) in a round robin with #4 Lori Turley (Bellingham, WA) taking second. Women’s B was won by #2 Winnie Brumsickle (Friday Harbor, WA) against #1 Karen Jaskolka (Redmond, WA) [Scores not available]. Women’s C was won by #5 Lisa Jamsran (Seattle, WA) who needed a tie breaker to win against #2 Jennifer Coate (Olympia, WA) with scores of 15-12, 5-15 and 11-9. The Women’s D division was won by our won Olympia resident #4 Traci Nelson in the round robin with #1 Tami Bair (also from Olympia) took second…way to represent Olympia. The Women’s Open/Elite Doubles was won by the #4 team of Vicki Panzeri / Jessica Munoz in a round robin. The Women’s B/C Doubles was won by the team of Diane Baydo and Sally Jo Wickham.

The Men’s Singles was just as exciting as Jimmy Lowe (Wahiawa, HI ) got 1st place, defeating his one time student Sunji Spencer (Medford, OR) with the score of 15-6 and 15-10. On his road to the finals, Jimmy beat Carlos Thomas 15-9 and 15-7 in the round of 16; then in the Quarters, Bill Napier succumbed to him by only three point, 15-14 and 15-13; in the Semis he beat Paul Julbes 15-6 and 15-11. On his road to the finals, Sunji squeaked by #1 seed Jeff Stark in the round of 16s winning 15-14 and 15-11; in the Quarters he beat Tanner Matson 15-6 and 15-0; in the Semis he played against #3 seed Neale Jentsch winning 15-7 and 15-11.

Other winners in the Men’s Divisions: The Men’s Elite was an upset victory by #10 Joel Pelesky (Puyallup, WA) over #1 Favian Elmore (Everett, WA) winning 15-14 and 15-3. The Men’s A was by #3 seed Loren George (Onalaska, WA) beating #4 Ty Sauve (Everett, WA) 15-7 and 15-8. Men’s B was the biggest draw with 21 participants, which was won by #1 seed Joon Sinn (Federal Way, WA) against #2 Bill Cummings (Friday Harbor, WA) with scores of 15-13 and 15-12. Men’s C was won by Olympia’s own Bill Matthews seed #4 who had to go to a tie-breaker against #10 Tony Antone (Junction City, OR) but pulled out the win by scores of 15-14, 6-15 and 11-9. The Men’s D division was won by #3 seed Cameron Ott (Woodinville, WA) against #1 Ryan Penders (Puyallup, WA) [scores not available]. The Men’s 35+ to 50+ division was won by #1 Robert Allen (Everett, WA) beating out #3 Ike Eiselstein (SeaTac, WA) winning 15-13 and 15-5. The Men’s 35+A/B was won by #3 Max Gilpin (Woodinville, WA) in a round robin format.. The Men’s 45+ to 55+ A/B was won by #9 Dave Darling (Gearhart, OR) barely beating #3 Jesus Villahermosa (University Place, WA) with scores of 15-14 and 15-10. The Men’s 35+ to 55+ C/D division was won by #1 Alan Gerling (Renton, WA) beating out #6 Jim Tarp (Somewhere, WA) 15-7 and 15-4. The Men’s 60+ was won by Olympia’s #1 Dave Blain in a round robin format. Men’s Open Doubles was won by the #1 team of Jeff Stark / Lon Bergstrom defeating Paul Julbes / Mike Penders by the scores of 15-4 and 15-10. Men’s Elite Doubles the team of #6 Scott Dickinson / Mark Weissenbuehler won by beating #8 team of Miguel Gomez / Javaid (Jay) Siyal [scores not available]. The Men’s A doubles was won by the team of #5 Mark Weissenbuehler / Scott Dickinson over #1 Dave Darling / Ray Boyajian going the distance with scores of 15-9, 7-15 and 11-8 (looks like Mark and Scott will be moving up to Elite’s Doubles only). Men’s B doubles was won by #1 team of Todd Stringham / Matt Purcell beating out (in their first tournament) #6 team of Ron Tracht / Richard Cobb with scores of 15-5 and 15-13.

The Mixed Doubles division were as follows: The Mixed Open Doubles (MXOD ) division was won by #3 team of Alan Lawson / Jessica Munoz in a round robin, with #4 Tammarrian Rogers / James Kimball getting second. The Mixed Elite Doubles (MXED) was won by #1 seeded team of Daryl Bean / Lori Turley, with Dea Marshall / John Coate of Olympia taking second. In the Mixed A Doubles (MXAD) the winner was #6 Richelle Kulju / Steve Kowalski. In the Mixed B Doubles (MXBD) the winner was the #1 team of Bill Cumming / Winnie Brumsickle, with the #2 team of Karen Jaskolka / Kevin Jaquith taking second.


Leave your response!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.